Confessions of a Street Walker – part 30

walking-feet-clipart-qsdkpvj

It is possible that you have seen a rather peculiar woman walking around the streets of Hamilton over the last five years. If you have, I hope you gave a wave…because I am she.

Another milestone has been reached. I have finished walking all of Glanbrook.

I started this walking project in September of 2014. By the summer of 2016, I had finished walking all the streets on the Hamilton Mountain. By September of 2018, I had finished all of Hamilton. By the late summer of 2019, I had finished all of Stoney Creek. And now I can confess that all of Glanbrook has been trod upon by my raggedy running shoes.

While keeping track of the completed streets on my HSR transit map I actually ran out of map so had to improvise.

20200817_190005

The red dots are the places I parked and the green half dots are places that I started leaving my ‘have a nice day’ rocks (see Confessions part 29). I used smaller maps for the new subdivisions in Mount Hope and in Binbrook. During this time of our mandated physical distancing I confess that it was good to spend my time walking down the ruralest of rural roads in our part of southern Ontario – from the ‘Welcome to West Lincoln’ and ‘Welcome to Haldimand-Norfolk’ signs I have wandered and roamed. The final street was walked on today.

20200817_095940

It was actually a road that I had walked on many times before but that had been years ago. We had lived on Glover Road in Hannon (R.R.#2 in fact) from when we married in 1980 until the summer of 1986 when we moved because we outgrew our cute little starter house.  We had four daughters under the age of six and Martin had just taken over his father’s construction business and we were quickly running out of room. So we packed up our things and moved closer to Hamilton so we would not have to pay long-distance charges to talk to many of our customers. It was not a built-up area at the time and we had two acres but over 30 years has changed that quite a bit.

So where do I go from here? I have already been walking in Ancaster and hope to get all of the roads south of the 403 done before winter. A lofty goal, methinks, but we will see.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Street Walker – part 30

    1. It is actually quite invigorating for me to walk. No, I have not lost weight. If I go for a long walk but come home and eat a bag of potato chips I gain more that I lost. For me, I cannot ‘out-walk my fork’. Still, walking definitely makes me feel healthier.

      Like

Leave a comment